badwebdesign.blogg.se

Brave merida bear
Brave merida bear







brave merida bear brave merida bear

While I jump for joy over her Once Upon A Time stint, let's take a look at why she's Disney's best feminist heroine: 1.Princesses in animated features are usually occupied with royal duties and finding Prince Charming.

brave merida bear

Luckily, I wasn't disappointed - at the movie's conclusion, Merida was shown to be perfectly happy enjoying her newfound bond with her mom and engaging in her favorite hobbies.Īlthough there's no Brave 2 on the horizon, we haven't seen the last of Merida. Because, really, I just wanted a princess who is perfectly content to be #TeamSingle. When I watched Brave for the first time, I silently prayed to myself that Merida wouldn't happen upon some strapping, archery-loving lad in the woods and then end up reaching some happy compromise with her mother about marrying who she chooses. But, more importantly, it shows how the mother-daughter relationship can be mended through patience, courage, and love. Brave successfully illustrates how forcing gender stereotypes on a young woman can negatively affect a family (although not every mom gets turned into a bear during the conflict, I'll admit). Instead of focusing on a princess who longs to find her own true love, the movie focuses on the relationship between Merida and her mother - which is really unique considering most Disney princesses don't even have mothers, so that important relationship usually gets totally ignored. Plus, she could definitely give Katniss a run for her money in an archery match.Īlthough the "princess who doesn't want an arranged marriage" plot device has been used countless times, Brave took it in a way more interesting and progressive direction. Merida is Disney's best feminist princess thanks to her fierce independence, courage, and refusal to conform to any stereotype that doesn't suit her. I never thought I could love a Disney princess more than Belle, but Merida's story was such a refreshing departure from the typical formula that she won me over instantly. When it was announced that Merida from Brave will appear on Season 5 of Once Upon A Time, I jumped for joy because there are few film characters (Disney or otherwise) who I love quite as much as this plucky, arrow-wielding princess.









Brave merida bear